Personal Statement

First of all, my name is Adam Widdowson. I’m a pretty average, polite, kind and caring person who attempts everything that is given to me. I enjoy being subjectified as a geek as I have a love for things such as sci-fi TV and films, Comic Books and Collectibles. This aspect of me is what led me to choose media as a subject in school and college.  I currently attend Hillsborough College doing a Level 3 course for Media- Video, Post-production and Special Effects, which I am enjoying learning the different skills I need to advance in my career choices.

Throughout my education, it has been a tough time for me because of my confidence issues, so I didn’t necessarily work well in teams or make friends and I preferred to stay and work on my own at the start of my secondary school life. I set myself to focus on the task and I worried a lot that I wasn’t doing things right. As the years have progressed, my confidence issues have lifted and I have changed significantly. I am more confident and able to work in teams and groups and I have been able to make friends along the way. This is while I stay focused on the task set and I don’t socially do much until I have finished the work I have started. This is how I stay focused and work well to get things done to a high standard and to a deadline. I put my determination into the tasks that are set and I try and complete them within the deadline.

My personality is kind, caring, friendly, trustworthy, focused, confident and a smart. I don’t like to brag about things as I consider other people’s feelings and thoughts about me. I am friendly towards anyone but to the people I call friends and family, I am more kind and considerate and I put their problems and happiness before my own as I find happiness knowing that they are happy and that nothing is bothering them. If someone is feeling down I can automatically realise this and I see if I can help out with anything. If I can then I try and help them to sort it out so I listen to them and show that they can trust me and then I help them so that they are happy again. If I am down I try and hide my feelings from them but if I feel I can truly trust them, then I will open up and let them help me. This has always been a part of me since I was very young. I am also mature and raring to learn whatever I can as I believe that even when finishing education, we learn something every day and we are constantly learning throughout our lives.

I have become more confident and I am able to project myself a lot more. My personality is also projected a lot more outside of working. I am a geeky person so I enjoy sci-fi and comic book shows like Doctor Who and Batman. I also collect many things that are to do with the things that I like and these are the things that motivate me every day. I enjoy any forms of media and this is why I have chosen to do this as a subject  in college.

In the future I would like to set up and run my own business that sells novelty and collectable items. I think I would be good at this because, as I have found from the last two years doing business as a subject, I have a good knowledge of the business world and I believe this knowledge would be very helpful and good to use, which is why I want my own business. I would like to tie this in with a YouTube channel that covers a variety of subjects. This is because YouTube has been a big dream of mine and most of my inspirations are You Tubers, also YouTube has become a big job opportunity in recent years. I think I will be good at this because I have grown my confidence and I have a good knowledge about YouTube. I also have a good set of skills for creating videos and how to edit them together. I also have a dream to move to America in the future as this is where I think my business/ YouTube career will be best suited as most YouTube corporations are American.

Leave a Reply

