Blog Post 5-Creating Final Product.

coffee-wallpapers-7993-8437-hd-wallpapers

Prototype One

This was the first prototype I made of what the typical end product will look like. After I used Premier Pro to remove the green screen the from the background of the player, I opened this footage into After Effects and checked to see if the footage was working correctly and that the background had fully been removed to leave just the player. I found that some of the stand that the greenscreen was on had been shown whilst the footage was recorded and this showed in the footage I was working with. To remove this I tried to use a mask to cut it from the footage but this was unsuccessful as it could still be seen, although once I had positioned the player as I wanted him to be, the area that could be seen before was no longer visible as it was out of the main screen area. After this was completed I imported in the background I was going to use from the file it was in. This time lapse background I used had already been made into a video file so I simply imported the footage that was saved and moved it to the back of the player, this was then the main part of the prototype done. Another file I used was footage of the team logo that I wanted to use behind the player. This still had the greenscreen background so I first used the ultra-key tool in Premier Pro to remove this green as I had with the player. I then imported the footage with a transparent background into my After Effects project. I wanted this spinning logo to be behind the player footage so I moved the logo to the back of the player and re-sized it to be bigger than the player was. This was so the logo could still be seen despite the player being in front of it. The final step I took was to add in the players name, position and number. I decided to create this in an unusual format with some text being bigger than others. I achieved this by adding in three text fields, each saying the particular text I wanted. I wanted the players name fit in the space between the edge of the screen and the player so I enlarged the text to the size that best fitted to what I wanted, this being 131 pixels big, and moved it into position. Then I changed the text font to Agency FB as this was a good thick font to use that will show on the screen at the grounds, and this is the font I used for all the text I inserted. I also changed the colour of the font to the same white as what is used on the logo I imported as I felt this would be the correct colour to use so that the colours match each other. I did this by using the eyedropper tool and clicking the white colour of the logo to change it. I did the same to the position text that I placed underneath the player name although I adjusted the size of the text so that it was the same length as the player name was from each end, this meant that the position text was of a size 131 pixels, the same as the player name size. I decided that there was little room for the player number to go so I decided to change things around slightly. I inserted the text I wanted and changed the colour to the same red as on the logo by using the eyedropper tool. I then made the text a bigger size to the other pieces of text I used. I found that it would be good to have the player number at a size of 489 pixels so that it would be visible even when placed behind the other pieces of text. Once I had positioned this to the center of the two pieces of text, I adjusted the opacity to 81% so that it was slightly faded, making the background more visible and the other text stand out more. I then decided to add some effects to these pieces of text. I made the player name scale in from the sky of the background by using the scale tool in the transform section of the text settings and used key frames to make the text grow in. I then made the player position spiral in using the rotation tool in the text transform settings, adding two key frames and setting the degrees to 0 on the first key frame and 360 on the last one. I also used the scale tool again to make the text grow from a size of 0 to the size I originally made it. For the final piece of text, I used the position tool to insert two key frames to the player number, making it move from a position out of the frame to the position I originally had it, making it fly in from the left side of the screen.Once I had done these steps, I had completed the first variant prototype for the end product, and so I exported the project as wmv files in both 1800X1080p and the required 640X384p quality’s.

_____________________________________________________

Prototype Two

For this prototype, I copied the file in the folder to make another copy of this file and opened it. I kept the Player, Logo and text all the same sizes and positions but removed the background i had originally used. By right-clicking in the timeline box and selecting New and then Solid, I added in a white solid background to the prototype and set it as the background. After this, I was able to use the Rectangle shape tool to add in 4 equal sized rectangles each with the same size gap between them. I then changed these 4 rectangles to the a red colour that i used on the logo with the eyedropper tool and moved these to the background. This made the background become the colours that are the colours of the team. As the background was black and white, I had to change the text colour to something different so that it would show up. After looking through the colour selectors, I found two colours that stood out from the colour of the background. I changed the Player name and Position to a light grey colour as this stood out from both the red and the white. I then changed the player number to Black as this allowed the number to stand out from the background and also be able to allow the text to be readable. I then used the opacity tool again to set it to 90% so it was slightly see through and not a strong black colour. I left the text static and without effects and exported this to the same wmv file format and sizes as on the first prototype.

_____________________________________________________

Prototype Three

For the third and final prototype, I simply made another copy of the file and opened it once more. Everything was set the way I wanted it to be so I simply switched the effects on the text. I made the player number scale and spiral in from the bottom left using the key frames and setting the degrees and size accordingly. I then made the player name scale in from the top left using key frames to adjust the size, making it grow over a few seconds. I finally used position tool to make the player position move onto the screen from the bottom and be positioned in its original place using key frames and moving the text from one spot to the other. Then finally exported this prototype as a wmv file and in the same quality as before.

_____________________________________________________

Choosing The Final Prototype

Choosing the prototype NOTES

As a group, we came together to decide on the prototypes that would be sent off to the football team so they could decide which ones they liked. To decide,we watched through all that had been created and came together to make notes on which we liked. In our notes, we said what we liked about them and what we though could be improved and then sent them by email to the team to see what we had made and make a decision on the final product.

_____________________________________________________

Final Product

Once the response had been received from the people at the football club, it appeared that the things we had created weren’t suitable for their screen at the ground, so didn’t fit the purpose. As a help to us all, they sent us a template of how they thought they could appropriately use the videos on their screen. Once we had this template, we were able to quickly create the final products to a professional standard.

First, using premier Pro, I imported the footage of the footballers we already had. I then used a mask to circle the footballer, removing all excess footage from the video. I then keyed out the green screen using the ultra key tool and clicking on the darkest part of the screen. This left the background of the player blank and just him in shot. I then opened a pre-made After Effects project as a template and added in the player footage i created and moved it to the place where the old player had been, then changed the text to match the information needed. I finally added in the sponsors logo and this was done. I then exported the video to the correct dimensions and files.

I then made another copy of the aftereffects file I created and changed the images and information to match the second player I created for, making it quick and easy to create a second player and export it to the same dimensions that were needed.

Leave a Reply

